Dear Dad


DEAR DAD

 

Dear Dad,

 

I really don’t know what to say

So I thought I’d write you a letter to give you a play,

By play account of my regard for you, as is the way

When Father’s are lauded throughout the land on this solitary day

 

Dear Dad,

 

One day in the year just ain’t enough

To bring to mind and thank you for all the fatherly stuff

You’ve done for me, so generously, without asking for so much

As a penny or a cent in return, even when times were tough

 

Dear Dad,

 

You’ve always encouraged me, even when you did not understand

Though your hopes for me, may not have turned out as you planned

When the world enforces upon me it’s unforgiving definition of a man

Being true to myself and my gift is the only thing you demand

 

Dear Dad,

 

You demand much less than you deserve

And command much respect with admiration in reserve

Leaving fond memories with those whom you have served

Now, I get to create my own memories of you in your favorite preserve

 

Dear Dad,

 

I treasure the times we spend on the barstool seat

Sitting beside each other and propping up our feet

As we contemplate and talk about the things that make life sweet,

I listen to you dig another story from the vault of malt and wheat

 

Dear Dad,

 

I feel like I’m making up for all this lost time

I’ve spent chasing spiritual satisfaction in the Bible’s dated lines

Now, I’m slowing finding redemption in the timeless confines

Of a father’s acknowledgement and a Corona with lime

 

Dear Dad,

 

If only I could sum up how much you mean to me

How much like you, I’ve always strived to be

But, the more I think about it, the more I start to see

That capturing this bond could take an eternity

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

