How It Used To Be


HOW IT USED TO BE

 

My eyes bled a salty; colorless stream

Down over my cheekbone

My heart cried a crimson; liquid red

As I put down the phone

My hand felt shaky; uncontrollable

and a little disowned

My head ached as it tried to contemplate

What it was to be alone

 

At least that’s how it used to be

When lonliness was a friend to me

And time passed by so slow

But, that’s when I was lost at sea

When I always felt the need to flee

And I was my biggest foe

 

My mind an inscrutable hermitage

Where I’ve long hidden away

To rewind, an inpenetrable refuge

For tentative thoughts to play

Sorting through the broken cartilage

Of confused emotions that stay

Interwined with unspoken wreckage

From another time, another day

 

At least that’s how it used to be

When lonliness was a friend to me

And time passed by so slow

But, that’s when I was lost at sea

When I always felt the need to flee

And I was my biggest foe

 

Copyright of Ken Hume

 

29/08/12

Published in: Uncategorized on August 29, 2012 at 5:01 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kenhume79.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/how-it-used-to-be/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. 🙂 Good work from a Tullamore Rhymer!

    • Thanks a million fellow ‘Tullamore Rhymer’. 😛


Leave a Reply

