Desire and Butterflies


I fade into my drunken senses
Another lime soaks and condenses
In the bottle, I’m defenceless
Heartbreak falls through my lenses

I look into my cracked phone
And I see a picture, flesh and bone
Vulnerability and a life unknown
Wake up before my chance has flown

I look into those invitng eyes
And I see it all, promises and lies
Uncertainty and compromise
Beauty; desire and butterflies

I look into my battered heart
And I see it beating, stop and start
I wanna stay, I should depart
Aye, that would be very smart

But I look up and see her sway
To the music, so I think I’ll stay
Curiosity of a child, I’ll play
The game, though I could pay

I look into those invitng eyes
And I see it all, promises and lies
Uncertainty and compromise
Beauty; desire and butterflies

When I look up, everybody’s gone
Except her and the jukebox on
Move into kiss and forget the song
Could be bliss, or it could bomb

I look out into the dark and sigh
Wondering how, wondering why
We got to this stage, I smile a wry
Smile and brave the night sky

I look into those invitng eyes
And I see it all, promises and lies
Uncertainty and compromise
Beauty; desire and butterflies

I see it all darling and feel it too
Yet here I stand looking at you
Completely sold, frozen through
With cold and fear of what to do

I look at you as we move closer
On the couch, maintain composure
We talk movies, your disclosure
That you’ve liked me bowls me over

I look into those invitng eyes
And I see it all, promises and lies
Uncertainty and compromise
Beauty; desire and butterflies

I look up briefly because my mind
Is somewhere else, I can’t find
The courage to…. so I’ve resigned
Myself to wishing I could rewind

And

Look into those invitng eyes
To see it all, promises and lies
Uncertainty and compromise
Beauty; desire and butterflies

One thought on “Desire and Butterflies

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

