HITCHIN’ A FREE RIDE (On The Run From Somethin’)


VEImageRSE 1

 

I was sitting on the highstool in the corner of the bar

Shoulder’s hunched; head encased in my shaking hands

And I’m sifting through the pool of my broken heart

Flowers bunched; bled and erased, my hopes and plans

Have been swallowed up by the hourglass of time

It’s shifting sands flowing ever downwards, dragging

My whole life away from me, until there was no sign

Leaving in it’s place a huge void, an incessant nagging

 

 

CHORUS

 

“We’re all running from something shady

And it’s buried deep inside

We’re all ruuning from that onething baby

Worried that our past will collide

With our present and leave the future hazy

By burning down our pride

We’re all have that something dark & crazy

Clinging on hitchin a free ride”

 

VERSE II

 

That was then, this is now and I’m sitting here again

In that same ol’ place with an empty bottle

For a friend, never allow anybody in except the pain

And self-defeating thoughts that throttle

My already deflated confidence until I beat my fist

On the counter, and the door opens wide

And I see her, ah the familiar fragrance, and the kiss

I almost flounder as makes her way inside

 

 

CHORUS

 

“We’re all running from something shady

And it’s buried deep inside

We’re all ruuning from that onething baby

Worried that our past will collide

With our present and leave the future hazy

By burning down our pride

We’re all have that something dark & crazy

Clinging on hitchin a free ride”

 

VERSE III

 

So I tried my very best not to baulk at her touch

Because, well, it’s been such a long; long time

She said “You know, you don’t talk all that much”,

I said “you should read some of my rhymes

They reveal all the things that I could never

The questions; lessons and reasons why”

“But you cannot hide behind your ink forever”

She countered, so this was my reply

 

CHORUS

 

“We’re all running from something shady

And it’s buried deep inside

We’re all running from that onething baby

Worried that our past will collide

With our present and leave the future hazy

By burning down our pride

We’re all have that something dark & crazy

Clinging on hitchin a free ride”

 

VERSE IV

 

“So, what you are you running from then my dear?”

She asks, “what’s that one thing you can’t seem to shake!

You’re ought not to be shunning people out of fear

That you’ll be unmasked, it’s hunting you till you break

Down. Stop looking down my love, lift up your head

Come out of the dark; stand still; let go and you’ll see

All around. You’re stuck in a warp, rise up from the dead

Step up to the mark, take my hand, i will help you be

 

CHORUS

 

“We’re all running from something shady

And it’s buried deep inside

We’re all ruuning from that onething baby

Worried that our past will collide

With our present and leave the future hazy

By burning down our pride

We’re all have that something dark & crazy

Clinging on hitchin a free ride”

 

VERSE V

 

“But if you’re gonna stay with me babe

Then I’ll stop running for a while

I’ll dig out the demons that are hidden away

And remember to let go and smile

Because from now, everytime I lift up my head

I’ll see you, my light shining in the dark

My sanity in my insanity and my own bed

Of roses, my kite flying in the park.”

 

BY KEN HUME

 

Published in: Uncategorized on May 29, 2013 at 1:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kenhume79.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/hitchin-a-free-ride-on-the-run-from-somethin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

