FEELING THE WEIGHT (A Cross I Can’t Carry)


FEELING THE WEIGHT

(A Cross I Can’t Carry)

 

I feel the weight of your expectation

It lays heavy on me like a bad vocation

I never wanted.

 

I feel the weight of your disappointment

It burns me inside in a way no ointment

Can ever heal.

 

I feel the weight of your stifled ambition

It fights with my own in a war of attrition

Till mine starts to fade.

 

Like a cross I can’t carry on my shoulders

Like a loss i can’t marry, just makes me older

Like a boss who always harries, a good soldier

Who always does what he’s asked to do

 

But…

 

Now, I’m feeling the weight

All this pressure to placate

And I feel that it’s too late

To change your mind about me

 

Oh, I’m feeling the weight

I’ve got too much on my plate

And you’re starting to grate

The few bits of kind left in me

 

Oh, I’m feeling the weight

And I’m done with this wait

As I feel like you don’t rate

Anything that you find in me

 

Like a cross I can’t carry on my shoulders

Like a loss i can’t marry, just makes me older

Like a boss who always harries, a good soldier

Who always does what he’s asked to do

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

