Desire and Butterflies


One of the pieces i read out out at Castlepalooza. Hope ye don’t mind the repost?! 🙂

Ken Hume

I fade into my drunken senses
Another lime soaks and condenses
In the bottle, I’m defenceless
Heartbreak falls through my lenses

I look into my cracked phone
And I see a picture, flesh and bone
Vulnerability and a life unknown
Wake up before my chance has flown

I look into those invitng eyes
And I see it all, promises and lies
Uncertainty and compromise
Beauty; desire and butterflies

I look into my battered heart
And I see it beating, stop and start
I wanna stay, I should depart
Aye, that would be very smart

But I look up and see her sway
To the music, so I think I’ll stay
Curiosity of a child, I’ll play
The game, though I could pay

I look into those invitng eyes
And I see it all, promises and lies
Uncertainty and compromise
Beauty; desire and butterflies

When I look up, everybody’s gone
Except…

View original post 186 more words

Published in: Uncategorized on August 6, 2013 at 10:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kenhume79.wordpress.com/2013/08/06/desire-and-butterflies-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

