RED IS THE COLOUR (Valentine)


Red is the colour of our blood as it flows
Red is the colour of our love as it goes
Boom, boom; boom, boom and so the yearning starts
Who knew that you could stoke this burning heart?

Red is the colour of all those roses and wine
Red is the colour of my chosen Valentine
Snap, bang goes the token arrow from Cupid’s bow
God damn, you’re smokin’. I’d be stupid to let you go

Red is the colour of your high-healed shoes
Red is the colour that makes it hard to lose
One’s direction when you come into my sight
Pure affection draws me on into your light

Red is the colour of your lipstick on my shirt
Red is the colour that’d always pick me up
Everytime, anytime that I’d see that daring fit
Every line in every rhyme should be wearing it

Red is the colour of paint dashed ‘gainst the wall
Red is the colour that taints gashes when we fall
Drip, drip; drip, drip and so the liquid red is spilling
I once skipped, then I tripped, now head is killing

Me, because I can’t believe that you’re my Valentine
That the arrow found it’s way into this heart of mine
Intoxicating my mind with a sober alcoholic blur
And deemed this romance and time ready to occur

Published in: Uncategorized on February 13, 2014 at 6:06 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kenhume79.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/red-is-the-colour-valentine/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

