A Shadow Cast


On account of it being the 1st anniversary of my father’s death, I felt compelled to repost this poem I wrote shortly after his passing.

Ken Hume

“Are you John Hume’s son?”

They would inquire,
Once they had caught wind of my surname
“I am”
Came the immediate; proud reply.
“Nothing to do with his namesake John Hume up in the North by any chance”
They would pursue.
Both men of peace. Both much respected.

“I worked with your father when he was Hospital Administrator”
“I was in the Civil Defence with your dad”
“I used to work with him in the court house”
“Ah, I remember working with John in Kilroy’s”
“Didn’t he do the Mater Hospital Pools?”
“He was a good man. A kind man. Always had time for everybody.
Was an absolute gent. Always got things done. Always had a smile
On his face.”

“Who is this man?” I thought to myself
This man they call John Hume
The man with a plan
This man of whom they speak
With such fondness and high…

View original post 297 more words

Published in: Uncategorized on September 27, 2016 at 3:13 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kenhume79.wordpress.com/2016/09/27/a-shadow-cast-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

