THIS TYPE OF HEARTBREAK


 

It’s hard to take

This type of heartbreak

Unfair & unnecessary

And bitter to taste

It doesn’t seem right

This cruel twist of fate

Where is the mercy?

Where is the grace?

 

CHORUS

I know that ye were sick

And I know ye weren’t well

Yet I feel like I’ve been tricked

By this double death knell

I just wasn’t prepared

For this loss

This week of pure hell

This type of heartbreak

Casts a dizzying spell

 

These 2 pieces of my heart

Whose shoes I once laced

2 cornerstones of my life

Snapped up by the angels

Departed in such haste

Just over a week

The longest 8 days

Of my life. I weep

 

CHORUS

I know that ye were sick

And I know ye weren’t well

Yet I feel like I’ve been tricked

By this double death knell

I just wasn’t prepared

For this loss

This week of pure hell

This type of heartbreak

Casts a dizzying spell

 

I’m punched in the guts

All over the place

Knocked out to the canvas

I’m lost and I’m dazed

At a complete loss

Now I’m left to chase

Around in circles

Before they are erased

 

CHORUS

I know that ye were sick

And I know ye weren’t well

Yet I feel like I’ve been tricked

By this double death knell

I just wasn’t prepared

For this loss

This week of pure hell

This type of heartbreak

Casts a dizzying spell

 

My battered heart

And my tear stained face

Are left behind to recover

Refresh and retrace

A lifetime of memories

And a happier place

Mum & Dad, how I’ll miss you

Ye have now run ye’re race.

 

Written by Ken Hume

13/09/17

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

